Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Author: Lilian Carmine Interview and Giveaway!

I'd like to welcome Lilian Carmine to the blog today to celebrate the publication of her novel, The Lost Boys from Random House UK. I'll be reviewing this book soon, but for now, be sure to stick around to learn about this debut author. We have an INTERNATIONAL giveaway for you at the end!

Welcome to Books à la Mode, Lilian! Let's get this interview started.

Will you please share a brief bio with us?


Lilian Carmine is the author of the popular Lost Boys novels and Bacharel of Visual Arts.

The Lost Boys Trilogy will be published by Ebury Press (Random House UK), the first book of which with over 33 million reads online at Wattpad.

Lilian is currently working as a freelance artist on illustrated children’s books, animation, and artistic creation—as well as the next book in her Lost Boys series.

Readers, here's a bit about the book, which drops tomorrow!

The Lost Boys
Lilian Carmine
Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Official Fan Page | Goodreads | YouTubePublisher Page

Page Count: 512
Release Date: January 1st, 2014
Publisher: Ebury Press (Random House UK)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult

An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer 

Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard.

Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

Describe The Lost Boys in six words.
  1. Love
  2. Friendship
  3. Music
  4. Courage
  5. Magic
  6. Perseverance

How did you arrive at writing paranormal romance?


I think paranormal fiction gives me a lot of freedom; I can create new worlds, new universes, magical beings, entities with powers... anything is possible and that is what I like the most about the genre.

Supernatural fiction and fantasy are my most favorite genres to read (and write) because of all the possibilities they allow for creativity.


What's the first line of The Lost Boys. Could you give us a brief commentary on it?
“I really was lost.”
That is the exact first line of book.

I think it was a very significant way to start the story, since the main character Joe Gray starts as literally "lost," but then ends up being officially a member and part of the “Lost” Boys, a group of rocking friends and musicians and in the end, the Lost Boys will help Joe to find the way to be herself again and to live a life full of possibilities.

How do you react to negative or harsh reviews of your writing?

I think all feedback is valid, may they be positive or negative.

I try to listen to what everyone has to say and take in the things I agree and discard the things that don’t make sense to me, simple as that.

People are entitled to have their opinion, but you don’t have to agree with everything everyone says.

You also can’t let it affect you, and that goes both ways. People are often concerned about the bad critics, but the high praises can’t be as bad for you, if you don’t know how to deal with them.

Don’t let all the praises go up to your head; but don’t let the harsh criticism bring you down either. Stay centered and true to yourself and you won’t have problems with any kind of feedback you receive. That’s the advice I try to follow myself here.


That's fabulous advice. Authors need to be wary of the negative aspects of positive criticism.

Click "Read more" to find out what kind of kid Lilian was in high school, who her celebrity crush is, and the message she wants readers to take away from her novel. We're also hosting a giveaway for TWO print copies at the end, so you don't want to miss that either!

- - - - - - - - - - -

Some randomness...

What kind of kid were you in high school? I was the quiet kid that was always with a book in hands or always drawing in a notepad or whatever piece of paper I could get my hands on.

I’m still like this now. Books and art have been the two loves of my life since forever, that has never changed for me and I think it never will.

Biggest celebrity crush? The incredible and beautiful Emma Watson, who will always be the loveliest Hermione Granger and forever in my heart.

And the lovely Tom Hiddleston, the wicked prankster God and kindest, most talented and charming man ever.

Emma Watson is a goddess and Tom Hiddleston is just ! ! !!!!! What did you want to grow up to become when you were younger? I wanted to be a writer or an illustrator. I always loved to write and draw, those were (and still are) the two activities that made me the happiest.

I graduated in Visual Arts and grew up to be a professional illustrator, but now I am trying this new path in the literary world and I’ve never been more happy in my life! It has been quite a ride.


- - - - - - - - - - -

What is the message in The Lost Boys that you want readers to grasp?

There are quite a lot of little messages in the book that I wanted to pass on. Just to list a few, these are the top 10:
  1. Be yourself, don’t worry about other people’s opinions, be authentic and honest to who you really are, just like Joey, Tristan and the Lost Boys are. 
  2. Fight for what you really want, for those you really love. 
  3. Gather around yourself friends that are true and loyal and truly care for you. 
  4. It’s normal to be scared some times, and have fears, but to be truly brave is to face those fears head on.
  5. Stand up for yourself always. 
  6. It’s okay to ask for help when you falter and things are too hard for you to carry alone. 
  7. The smallest acts of kindness can change your life and change the lives of those around you more than you can ever imagine.
  8. Be a heroine of your own story, don’t wait for others to save you, do it yourself.
  9. Be kind, be brave, be fierce, and love intensely.
  10. Fight hard for what really matters.

Wonderful! It seems like readers could learn a lot from your book. What are your goals as a writer?

I realized one of my big dreams this year, which was to have my book published.

My goal now is to make writing as my main profession. If I could earn a living from my books, so I could continue writing more stories and publish new books, that would be the next big dream come true for me.


I really hope you are able to achieve that dream! What's next for you?

I’m working on my next (and second) book of the trilogy, The Lost Girl, which will be released in 2014. And then there’s the third book yet to write for 2015.

It was an absolute pleasure to be able to get to know you better today, Lilian! Thank you again for dropping by, and best of luck with future endeavors!

Giveaway!


Books à la Mode is giving away two print copies of The Lost Boys—woohoo! There will be two winners total. To enter, all you have to do is tell me:
What’s your favorite ghost romance story? Or if you've never read/liked ghost-human stories, what's your favorite paranormal romance pairing?

Don't forget to include your email address in your comment so I know who to contact when I randomly select winner. Don't make me track you down!!!!
Please make your comment MEANINGFUL. Comments solely consisting of stock responses or irrelevant fluff like "Thanks for the giveaway!" will not be considered for entry. Lilian and I really want to hear your thoughts! :)

Don't forget the entry eligibility terms and conditions!
Sponsored wholly by the publisher—a huge thank you to Random House UK!
Giveaway ends January 14th at 11.59 PM (your time).
Open internationally! That means anyone in the world can enter!!
Void where prohibited.
Winners have 48 hours to claim their prize once they are chosen, or else their winnings will be forfeited.
Although I do randomly select winners, I am in no way responsible for prizes, nor for shipping and handling.
As a reminder, you do not have to follow my blog to enter, though it is always very much appreciated ❤
Good luck!